Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

S like Senegal

Publié le par La Petite Chose

Africa is a beautiful continent very meaningful to me. Indeed, although I'm very white , I have African origins, specifically Senegalese origins. It is precisely because it isn't visible that this part of me is very important. Since I'm very young , I'm proud to say that I've Senegalese origins but many people laughed at me, saying that I was a liar. However, my great-grandfather was black, he was born in senegal.
I went for the first time in Senegal in February, it was very moving, I visited part of Senegal from where Serer are coming, an ethnic group in Senegal, the ethnic group of my family. I've tried to learn the Wollof and now I know some words like "See you soon" or "How are you", it was fun. I saw some of my family still lives in Dakar and Gorea. I visited the island, which is very moving. Indeed, members of my family were slaves and lived in Gorea. One of my aunts is now deputy mayor in Gorea. During the return to Dakar in boat I was interviewed by the BBC, it was fun to answer in English about my impressions after visiting the island.
Senegal is a magical country and I dream of returning. It's the perfect country for holidays, people are nice, it's amazing, everybody speak with you even if they don't know who you are! Just the best vacation ever for me.

Oh and for the pictures, it's the biggest baobab of the Senegal, a beach of The Somone where I was during my trip, the Mangrove (trees in water) and a fish market.

S like Senegal
S like Senegal
S like Senegal
S like Senegal
Commenter cet article